Cochran Confirmed as Chairman of Senate Committee on Appropriations

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Thad Cochran (R-Miss.), officially confirmed as the chairman of the Senate Committee on Appropriations in the 114th Congress, today said his goal is to move forward in a responsible and timely manner to fulfill Congress’ constitutional obligation to fund federal government functions.
The U.S. Senate on Thursday approved an organization resolution (S.Res.23) that, among other things, affirmed committee chairmanships for the new Congress.  Cochran’s selection was initiated by Republican members of the Appropriations Committee on Wednesday.
“I am grateful for the confidence placed in me to lead the Senate Appropriations Committee.  I will work with committee members to write timely bills to fund the government in a fiscally responsible manner, and to oversee the effective implementation of those bills by the executive branch.” Cochran said.  “We should strive to follow a process that gives all senators an opportunity to shape appropriations measures and help oversee the programs and policies that we fund.”
Cochran, who chaired the committee during the 109th Congress (2005-2006), is currently working on designating subcommittee chairmen from among the Republican members of the committee.  They include Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (Ky.), Richard Shelby (Ala.), Lamar Alexander (Tenn.), Susan Collins (Maine), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska), Lindsey Graham (S.C.), Mark Kirk (Ill.), Roy Blunt (Mo.), Jerry Moran (Kan.), John Hoeven (N.D.), John Boozman (Ark.), Shelley Moore Capito (W.Va.), Bill Cassidy (La.), James Lankford (Okla.), and Steve Daines (Mont.).