Cochran Announces Senate Appropriations Subcommittee Chairs

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senate Appropriations Committee Chairman Thad Cochran (R-Miss.) today announced subcommittee chairmen for the 114th Congress, indicating he expects this team to help produce and advance individual appropriations bills that are in the public interest and that reflect credit on the Senate.
“I am optimistic about working with this team and appreciative of the leadership they will provide the committee.  I also look forward to working with Vice Chairwoman Mikulski and the entire committee to produce individual bills and give all Senators an opportunity to review and offer input on them,” Cochran said.
The following subcommittee chairmen for the 114th Congress were named by Cochran:
Senator Jerry Moran of Kansas – Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration and Related Agencies
Senator Richard Shelby of Alabama – Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies
Cochran – Defense
Senator Lamar Alexander of Tennessee – Energy and Water Development
Senator John Boozman of Arkansas – Financial Services and General Government
Senator John Hoeven of North Dakota – Homeland Security
Senator Lisa Murkowski of Alaska – Interior, Environment and Related Agencies
Senator Roy Blunt of Missouri – Labor, Health and Human Services, Education and Related Agencies
Senator Shelley Moore Capito of West Virginia – Legislative Branch
Senator Mark Kirk of Illinois – Military Construction, Veterans Affairs and Related Agencies
Senator Lindsey Graham of South Carolina – State, Foreign Operations and Related Programs
Senator Susan Collins of Maine – Transportation, Housing and Urban Development and Related Agencies
Subcommittee memberships are being determined and will be announced as soon as possible.